Home > Bentley is Not a Jerk—A Relative Scale > Is it possible that Bentley is actually a good guy?

Is it possible that Bentley is actually a good guy?


We apologists have always been staunch defenders of Bentley. Normally, that means we rationalize his “bad” behavior and tell you why he’s not actually as bad as he seems on The Bachelorette. To all our readers, we only have one thing to say. We’re sorry, we screwed up.

Not only is Bentley not a bad guy, but it turns out that he is actually a pretty good guy. Now normally, we at the Apologists like to create our own content. But in this case, we are pulling a Huff Po and gathering together some statements about Bentley from around the web. Check them out:

Jeff Medolla (the Mask)

I don’t think Bentley is a total asshole…I just think he liked the camera and was doing whatever…Bentley, he was just kind of like, “Hey, you know what? I think I’m going to leave…”There’s no doubt in my mind that he missed his daughter, but I think it sounds cool or something to maybe say, “Yeah, I’m using my daughter thing, but it’s really not the case….”I have a feeling that I’ll be in touch with Bentley.

West Lee (That one dude)

I really liked Bentley … he seemed genuine. He talked about his daughter all the time, so I really thought that his missing her … and then to see all this stuff on the show was a bit of a surprise. Maybe the truth is somewhere in the middle, but at least in my experience of Bentley, he was a good guy. I like him.

Suzette (the ex)

He’s a really good father, he’s really involved. They’ve got a really great relationship. He adores her. I’d say he’s a really good father,” she explained. As for their marriage, Suzette told Billy and Kit, “It didn’t work out, he’s got a lot of great qualities, it just wasn’t right with us.”

Anonymous (Fellow Bachelorette contestant)

Courtesy of a fellow blogger:  Today I got an e-mail from a Bachelorette insider (whose true identity I can neither confirm or deny, though they did sound very much “in the know”) to tell me that he’s been getting a kick out of my recaps so far this season.  He also made an argument that Bentley is actually a fairly decent dude – “funny, chill, definitely competitive, but not the asshole the show’s making him out to be.  They’re murdering the guy in editing!”

It’s important to remember that these varied characters have every incentive to take shots at him, but neither The Mask, That one dude, nor The Ex, nor the Anonymous Contestant were willing to throw Bentley under the bus. When all is said and done, Bentley critics will no doubt cross over to our side, and when they do, we will extend to them an olive branch (or at least a lock of Bentley’s luscious hair).

  1. bentley fan
    June 17, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    great post!

    • June 17, 2011 at 7:28 pm

      Thanks!

      • Me
        June 17, 2011 at 8:44 pm

        LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. bentley fan
    June 17, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    i was just talking to ben and there was a paparazzi guy following him in provo…funny!

    • ME
      June 18, 2011 at 1:55 am

      I bet it was because of all the attention that the “Bentley Apologists” page is getting!!! SWEET!!!!!!

  3. andi
    June 17, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    OHH..GAWD!! my chest hurt laughing.

  4. andy
    June 17, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    very persuasive- great quotes.

  5. jer
    June 17, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    awesome, glad the truth is coming out…. when’s Bentley’s contract over so he can defend himself?

    • ME
      June 18, 2011 at 1:55 am

      NO DOUBT!! IF I WAS HIM, I WOULD BE BURSTING AT THE SEAMS!!!

  1. June 22, 2011 at 12:58 am
  2. August 2, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Leave a Reply

